Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-12-27 - 3:36 p.m.

Merry Christmas and Happy Boxing Day. I hope you all had fun.

It would be so nice if I could say I'm sorry for not being on the computer much in the last couple of days....but I'm really not that sorry. I'm so sick of getting online and hearing about how terrible some people are right now. How unsatisfied they are with their holiday. How depressed and lonely they are. It makes me ill.

You aren't starving. You aren't dead. You aren't *DEATHLY* ill. You aren't living in a third world country or being killed for your beliefs. You are with your family. You have people that care about you. You have food, shelter, love.

How, especially in this time, could you feel so sorry for yourself? How could you expect people to pity you when there are people out on the street who are celebrating the holidays with a can of cold beans and if REALLY lucky, maybe a blanket.

Or how about the people who are in the hospital? People who can't be home with their families for quite possibly their last Christmas. What about the kids who don't have parents? What about the Afghan women who, despite the fall of the Taliban, are still being beaten, killed, starved, and raped...just because of their sex?

No. You're lucky. You could go out in the street and scream that you hate the president. Nobody would touch you.

If you did that in just about any other country, you would be arrested and quite possibly killed.

All I'm asking is that you just TRY and stop feeling sorry for yourself. JUST TRY! Think of all of the things that you have instead of all of the things you don't have.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!